The PURPLE Group was initiated in 2004 to bring together the regions of the European Union. Thirteen regions are members of the association: Catalonia, Flanders, Frankfurt am Main, Île de France, Mazovia, MHAL (Province of Limburg), Nord Pas de Calais, Randstad Region, Rhone-Alpes, Southeast England, Stockholm, West Mislands.

These regions are working together to maximize the benefits of their proximity to urban agglomerations. At the same time, initiatives are being carried out in these areas aimed at minimizing the negative impact of large cities on the rural-urban character, landscape and natural environment of these areas, the goal of which is to preserve their uniqueness.

The goal of the PURPLE organization is to develop appropriate methods to enable the sustainable development of European peri-urban ("peri-urban") areas.